My BIGBANG Alive Tour Concert Experience

2012_alive_tourBig Bang’s Samsung Galaxy’s Alive World Tour Concert was a feat among the Korean music industry. It was the first of its kind and I get to be a part of it. Following the band since 2009, I knew how important 2012 are for them. Following the events on 2011 things looked bleak. Their comeback was a gamble. It was all or nothing for them and their fans.

The Wait

I bought my ticket for the concert way before the concert. I remember buying it just days after the ticket sales stated. I bought two, one for me and my friend. Later on, I also bought for my sister. One of our cousins decided to treat her as a graduation gift.

The waiting game was long but it was okay. The ticket sales started four or five months before their concert. Unlike 2ne1’s All Or Nothing Concert in Manila whose ticket sales started just two months before the concert.

The Travel

October 24, 2012 came and I couldn’t be happier. The ride to the venue will take my sister and I at least three hours but I was in the zone.

Before going, I went online to see the reactions of fellow Filipino VIPs and see the latest ticket sales. Last minute seats were opened, I remember them being sold before and just a few hours before the concert, they were opened again.

By lunch time, my sister and I were out in the streets towards our destination. I was pretty pumped up and excited. I had BIGBANG’s Alive album playing on my iPod. On the way, I could notice that some of the passengers were wearing k-pop and Big Bang related merchandises. assumed that they are going to the concert too.

The Line

Once in the venue, my friend, sister, and I looked around the area. I bought a TOP headband from a Korean lady selling in there. There was a lot of Korean taking advantage of the event, selling merchandises at a lower amount.

We took advantage of the freebies given by the boys’ sponsor. Asiana Airlines was giving away pens with a face of one of the boys. I took T.O.P’s pen. Then there’s also Samsung, the official partner and sponsor of BIGBANG for their world tour. They were giving away blue bracelets that lights up when you turn them on.

Samsung’s booth would also play videos of BIGBANG’s stages during the start of the Alive Tour in Seoul. The crowd would go wild whenever the songs would start to play. But Fantastic Baby was the crowd favorite. People would sing the lyrics even if they get it wrong. Foretelling the crowd’s reaction during the concert, people would scream their lungs out whenever T.O.P’s starts to sing his part.

I also bought myself a crown lightstick. Besides from the albums, one of the things that I would like to have is the lightstick. It symbolizes that you’re a fan of the group. The line was getting long by this time.

In line, the fans were wondering when they will open the gates. The time is fast approaching and we’re still outside. And to my horror, it rained.

Adding to the experience was the slow phase of the entrances. People were getting agitated. There was lack of air. I was tiptoeing just so I can catch air.

 The Concert

The late entrance of the audience caused many fans to miss the epic entrance of the boys. I was one of them. I was unable to see them coming out of their capsules to sing Tonight. I only caught up with them during Hands Up. I immediately took my lightstick out and started waving it in the air. I looked around the arena to see the crowd. It finally sink in on me that I was in a FREAKING BIGBANG CONCERT!

Mirroring the response of the crowd earlier that day, Fantasic Baby was a hit. Everyone was singing along with the boys. But during Top’s rap part, the scream was out of this world. Its so obvious just how much of the crowd loved him. Whenever it’s his turn to rap or whatever he is doing on stage, the crowd would scream and shout in delight. This girl right here is guilty.

There is just something about tee-oh-pee that just mesmerized female fans. He has the looks and smouldering eyes that impregnate women with just one look. Imagine if he took his clothes off like Taeyang does, now that would kill every fangirl out there.

Each of the members did great and was able stand on their own. G-Dragon was a force to reckon with on stage. He has a commanding presence on stage. Meanwhile, Taeyang was all over the place. He was enjoying and rocking the stage with his voice and dance moves. Let’s not forget about his abs though. But Daesung is giving him a run for his abs. His Wings stage was one of the highlights of the night for me. I was happy for him. After what he’s been though, he was able to fly again. Lastly, Seungri was Seungri. He was talkative and cheesy. All night, I would anticipate his turn to talk just so I can hear the infamous Seunglish.

It was a good thing that I didn’t watch too many fancams of the concert. Or else I would have been spoiled. I had a blast throughout the night. I was screaming and waving my lightstick like there’s no tomorrow. I even bumped a girl’s head in front of me with my lightstick a couple of times. I said sorry every time I did it but she didn’t even mind. She didn’t even look at her back to see the culprit.

One of the things that made the night interesting was Dara. She was in the arena watching the boys. Her attendance was a great promotional ploy on YG Entertainment and the local promoter’s part. It received the buzz it needed. During her brief stay, she introduced the boys to Gerry’s Grill and some booze.

After Effects

Despite not being able to see the entrance, I was a very satisfied and happy fan. I enjoyed the two to three hours of non-stop music. The concert was great. Best of all, I lose my voice that night due to screaming.

Three or four hours after the concert, I was still high. I was wide awake listening to their songs on my iPod. I was even online on my phone, checking to see if the band or the boys have updated. I laughed reading one of the band’s tweet; he said that Filipino fans really know how to scream. I was giggling like the rabid fangirl that I am while my sister was sleeping soundly beside me.

Once tomorrow came, I was still on cloud nine. It took about at least a couple of weeks or a month for the after effects to wear off.

Even now, when I close my eyes and try to remember that night, I can still picture the screaming fans and the boys performing on stage.

Photo: BIGBANG’s Official Facebook Page

 

Leave a comment